Center for Civil and Human Rights

49

Posted by debbiestephens | Posted in Learning | Posted on March 29, 2016

I am hopeful that you found our Field Trip to the Center for Civil and Human Rights a memorable experience.  I would like you  to answer  2 questions.
1. Please give me 1 word to describe your experience today.
2.  One of the stations in the human rights part of the museum discussed the term Ethical Footprint; how your actions and words define how you treat people. Did you learn  anything today that might change your ethical footprint?

Comments (49)

informational
I learned that you can take a stand against racial discrimination.

Learning
I learned that some people judge people based on how they look even before they meet the person.

I would describe this field trip as sad. I learned that you should take a stand on what you believe in and don’t let other people judge and bully you around.

Christian, I agree…these events in history ARE sad. We all need to be aware and do our part so history doesn’t repeat itself.

Mindful
Yes, my reason, is that we have some awesome resources but now I am more aware of the items I should purchase and the steps that were taken to create that product. I now realize more then ever how lucky I am, therefore I will try to make the most of what I have.

I’m glad you now have an awareness about manufacturing and business in other areas of the world that don’t have a government that protects its citizens in important ways.

Inspiring
I learned that negroes had death threats for chairs and bus seats etc..

I would describe the field trip as inspirational. It showed me how bad it was during the time of segregation and when I saw the video showing all the speeches about wanting equal rights, I was amazed and inspired after we went on the field trip.

forget after we went on the feild trip

Interesting

I learned how important it is to be ethical so, America will not repeat it’s past

I would describe the field trip to the Center for Civil and Human rights as inspiring. I learned that using violence for a cause is wrong, and anything can be achieved using non-violent methods.

Empowering
I feel like what I learned from this field trip will make me be an upstander. This experience will help me fight people who have prejudice and stand up for those who are a victim of it.

Khushi, I love your choice of the word empowering for two reasons. Firstly, it is a very, very strong and important word. I am also glad that this is how you feel. If you are feeling empowered by what you saw, my generation will be thankful to your generation to continue to combat the the many problems we were made aware of today.

Curious

I learned that someone small can make something big like MLK Jr.

Inspirational

I learned that you you should never say anything that could hurt people and that you should always be mindful and never exclude.

My one word for the field trip to the is moving. What I saw at the museum changed my ethical footprint because now I will stand up for people who are now being discrimated and will never insult someone because of the race or religion.

Humbling.
I learned that even in America there is still slavery and violence. This changes my entire view on the world.

Learning and growing often involves developing new perspectives, Ashna. I always appreciate your thoughtful views.

1. I think that my experience today was inspiring. It really inspired me because everything that I read and learned was so moving emotional, and touching. I couldn’t believe how different it was back then and the extremes that people would go to. It showed me how bad the segregation was and other world problems such as women’s and girl’s rights are and gave me a look from different points of view, so it wasn’t too biased. These events that took place and the ones that are going on today made me more aware that there are so many other problems going on and that I should be very grateful that I don’t have to face the problems that some people are facing today.

Don’t look at the 1

1. Inspirational
2. I learned that if there is a problem you should never be afraid to speak up and contribute to the solution.

I would describe the trip as thought-provoking. I learned the vast number of people who were discriminated and are still discriminated today for no reason other than the fact that some people think they are better than others for a reason that we cannot control. However, I also learned that you can make a difference by standing up to these things, and if you stand up to these things you can make a better world.

I am proud to think of you standing up to make a difference!

Motivational
The field trip was educational and I learned a lot about African Americans and how they were discriminated and some places they are. Also I learned when the freedom riders would ride on the bus they often had people trying to break their windows throw bombs or grenades.

I would describe this trip as a little overwhelming because I learned so much more in depth about the civil rights movement in the USA. The biggest thing that I learned about my ethical footprint is that people had to fight for there God-given human rights in this country, so that their grand-children and great – grandchildren could live without discrimination in this country.

Your words are so wonderful!

Inspirational

I learned that some people are terrible, horrible, mean people. I also learned that most people that are being treated badly either don’t speak up, or aren’t cared about. Such as MLK Jr. He lead a whole group of thousands, yet some people, like the government, didn’t care about their rights.

Inspiration
I learned that these negros never gave up. They stood up for each other. When I saw the exhibits, I see how hard these people and children work because of us. For example, when I say the one about cell phones, all materials used are being used in violence.

Realization
I learned that many of the things we do today was fought for back then. For an example riding a bus is normal to us, but back then people were arrested and hurt just to ride a bus. Another example eating at a diner, we won’t be attacked when we enter a diner but people were! In the end many things we can do now is because of the brave people who stood up for it.

Empowering

I was reminded and taight of all the things wrong with the world today, and am inspired, and want to make a change. It’s one thing to learn about discrimination in the past, but it’s even more eye-opening when reading stories about it today.

One word I would use to describe what I experienced today is transforming because seeing what people did to others back then can change and teach someone to never do that.I learned that you should stand up for your self no matter what.

It was moving. It showed me that some people are taken advantage of because people find it cheaper and that is cruel. I will never judge someone by their appearance, I will only take into account their actions, motives, and inner feelings.

I would describe my field trip as inspiring. I learned so many interesting facts I didn’t know. I also learned that you can’t just judge a person on what they look like on the outside.

Inspiring
I learned that our world was so different back then and that people had to fight for some of the things we have now. In some places people are still judged on how they look, and that in the United states we’ve come a long way from where we were back then and where we are right now.

The word I would use to describe this trip is informing. I had visited the museum before this field trip, this time I saw everything differently. This time I realized that everywhere in the world there are people fighting for their rights. I understood even more than I did before I really am a very, very privilege child and I should be very thankful for all that I have.

I appreciate the growth in your perspective between your first and second visit to the CCHR.

I would describe this field trip as insightful. I learned just how priveliged a life we lead. These brave people fought for their rights for themselves and others. I learned about prejudice, and how harsh it can be. We, as a human race have created this horrible thing called segregation where we judge and discriminate against our own. Since we are all humans, don’t we all deserve human rights? I learned about this is still happening today. It’s heart breaking to think that we still choose to be cruel and harsh to another person. We can all do something to stop discrimination from taking place, no matter how small.

I was taken by your comment at the museum, “Why do we discriminate against all of humanity? We are all part of humanity!” I share your perspective, Laura!

My experience on this trip was interesting. I had no idea that soccer balls were made by kids in Pakistan or that about 1,100 people had died in a factory accident making shoes. This changed my way of thinking. Now that I know what has happened to make my shoes, get chocolate, get roses, or even to make a soccer ball I have a lot more respect for it. I had always thought that soccer balls were made by machines and chocolate was made by machines to. I should have woken up and smelled the roses.

I would describe this field trip as surprising. I never knew how many things really happened to the black people in the South during the Free Rights Movements. It was interesting to see/hear what pain some of them were having to endure. Most people would probably think that because of the American Civil War ending that all people are now free and there are no slaves but that isn’t true. I think that it is surprising to see that there are still people in parts of the world that are making soccer balls, shoes, cutting cocoa plants, etc and are doing it all for free and against their will.

Interesting- I got to learn new facts that I didn’t know before about our history.
Sad- It was depressing about how they treated people by their race.
I learned that back then they had to fight for what we have now, like freedom. I also learned that there were different types of rights people had to fight for. Disability rights, women’s rights, immigrant’s rights, and more. People should not be judged by how they look or what their religion is.

My experience at the museum was thought-provoking. I learned that everybody can make a differnce if we try. You should never judge a person by their color, gender, religion, and language and try to see what’s really inside of them. Always stand up for your rights!

I would describe this field trip as informing and/or thought-provoking. The trip showed me that slavery is everywhere including the U.S. This really changed my perceptive on our world.

P.S I have spent over half-hour looking at the companies and groups who use slavery for a profit.

Max,
I am glad that what you learned today has prompted you to investigate and learn more on your own.

I thought this field trip was interesting. I learned what it was like to be a slave and how badly they were treated. I also learned that people like MLK Jr. stood up to the bad people so that people in the future wouldn’t be treated as badly.

Unbelievable
I learned that the african American race had life tough, and that they seemed to know that all of their protests would pay off in the future.

shocking- I was shocked to see some of the things we have done, and are still doing around the world

Interesting and sad

I learned that African Americans had a sad and tough life to deal with. I also learned that christians were captured from homes and brought to Burma. I thought this was interesting which was when we sat at the bar and the seat started kicking.

Wow. I did not know that there was that much violence during the time of MLK. It was bad experience that I want to have because I want to be able to understand all of the bad things that happened and why and be able to people that don’tunderstand why and how this happened. My favorite part of the museum was the diner experience. Overall I loved this field trip.

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar